Awards & Recognition

Bulyea Cup 

The Bulyea Cup is the highest honour that the School of Dentistry confers on its faculty members, members of the dental and dental hygiene professions, and members of the community. It is awarded in recognition of faculty members who have clearly excelled in both teaching and research, members of the oral health care professions (dentistry and dental hygiene) who are involved in teaching, research or service to the School of Dentistry, and to members of the community who have made contributions to oral health sciences education.

Gibb Teaching Awards

To publicly recognize teaching excellence and scholarship by instructors in the Dentistry and Dental Hygiene undergraduate programs; to encourage the pursuit of such excellence; and to promote improvement of teaching within the School of Dentistry. This will be recognized as the highest internal teaching award in the School of Dentistry. These two awards are named for Dr. Kent Gibb in recognition of his years of exemplary teaching in the School of Dentistry as a highly respected instructor and clinician. Read Kent Gibb's Teaching Biography
List of past recipients >>

W.W. Wood Award

The Association of Canadian Faculties of Dentistry (ACFD) has established the W.W. Wood Awards for “Excellence in Dental Education” to commemorate Dr. Bill Wood whose academic career exemplified dedication to research, teaching and service. Nominations accepted at any time. Read more. The nomination material for the W.W. Wood Award is reviewed by the local ACFD Faculty Committee at the University. When they have reviewed all of the nominations, they select one and send the name of the recipient and the supporting documentation to the ACFD office. From there, they will create the certificate and send it back to us for signature by the Deans and presentation.
List of past recipients >>

Marilyn Pawluk Mabey Award
The Marilyn Pawluk Mabey Award was established in 1978 to honour and perpetuate the memory of Marilyn Pawluk Mabey, a member who enhanced the profession of dental hygiene in Alberta by modelling clinical competence, instructional excellence and professional development.
Joanne Clovis Community Health Award
The Joanne Clovis Community Health Award was established in 1987 to recognize the significant contributions of a dental hygienist to the oral health of the community.
CDHA Excellence in Teaching Award
The CDHA excellence in teaching award 2011-2012, in partnership with DENTSPLY, is given to a dental hygienist, who is a CDHA educator member and educator in a Canadian dental hygiene program, for recognition of excellence in teaching contributions and innovations, and educational leadership.
E. N. Skakun Award for Service to Education  
This Award is named in honour of Dr. Ernest N. Skakun, a leader in psychometrics and medical education in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta, whose achievements model the behaviors we seek to recognize in this award.

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Award
This is the Association’s highest honour and is presented to alumni who have earned national or international prominence as a result of their achievements. Previous recipients include Supreme Court Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin, internationally renowned scientist Dr. Tak Mak, and popular meteorologist Ms. Claire Martin.
Alumni Honour Award
This award is conferred for excellence in community service, contribution to a profession, contribution to the advancement of knowledge.
Alumni Centenary Award for Volunteer Service to the University
This award recognizes alumni who have made an uncommon gift of time, self, and energy to the University.
Alumni Award of Excellence
This recognizes specific, recent accomplishments of University of Alberta graduates accomplished within in the past 12 months.
Alumni Horizon Award
This award honours the outstanding achievements of recent graduates.