Bulyea Cup

What is the Bulyea Cup?

Made from sterling silver and birdseye maple, the cup was presented to Dr. Harry Ernest Bulyea, the first director of the School of Dentistry , University of Alberta , on the occasion of his 100th birthday in 1973.  It was presented by Dr. Paul Goldhaber, Dean of the Harvard Dental School , in recognition of Dr. Bulyea being the then oldest alumnus of the program.  It was donated to the department by Mrs. Jean Porteous, daughter of Dr. Bulyea. 

The Bulyea Cup is the highest honour that the School of Dentistry confers on its faculty members, members of the dental and dental hygiene professions, and members of the community.  It is awarded in recognition of faculty members who have clearly excelled in both teaching and research, members of the oral health care professions (dentistry and dental hygiene) who are involved in teaching, research or service to the School of Dentistry, and to members of the community who have made contributions to oral health sciences education.

Who selects award recipients?

The selection committee consists of the School of Dentistry executive committee.

Who may submit nominations?

Nominations may be submitted by current or past students, faculty members, deans or chairs and members of the professions.  The significance that is attached to this award by the faculty, profession and community in the future will depend on the quality and stature of the recipients. Nominators play a crucial role in insuring that the candidates considered are the most accomplished members of the faculty, profession and community and that the letters of support give appropriate testimony to nominees’ achievements.

Who is eligible to receive the award?

Any full-time member of the academic teaching staff normally with 20 years of service as a faculty member in a university community, (ten of those years of service must be as a faculty member at the University of Alberta); members of the Dental or Dental Hygiene professions, with at least ten years experience in teaching, research or service to the School of Dentistry, University of Alberta, and members of the community who have consistently made outstanding contributions to oral health sciences education at the University of Alberta. In exceptional circumstances, the award may be presented to a former member of the academic staff who has made an outstanding contribution to their profession (Dentistry or Dental Hygiene), teaching, research and/or significant contributions to oral health sciences education.

There is also a Builders category to recognize the pioneers in developing the programs in the School of Dentistry. Posthumous awards will also be considered in this category.

How are recipients recognized?

Award recipients are recognized at a meeting of the School of Dentistry Academic Staff Association.  The winner’s name will be engraved on the base of the Cup plus receive a plaque indicating they were a recipient of the Cup.

What is the deadline?

The deadline is the end of May annually.

Where may I obtain the nomination form?

Click here for the nomination form


Bulyea Cup & Awards Dinner 2013
Bulyea Cup & Awards Dinner 2012
Bulyea Cup & Awards Dinner 2011

Past Recipients

  • Mrs. Brenda Walker (2015)
  • Dr. Tom Marrie (2014)
  • Jan Pimlott (2013)
  • Ms. Yvonne Pinchbeck (2012)
  • Dr. John Woronuk (2011)
  • Dr. Nadine Milos (2010)
  • Dr. Gordon Thompson (2006)
  • Dr. Geoffrey Sperber (2005)
  • Dr. G. Wayne Raborn (2003)
  • Mr. William (Bill) Dewan (2002) deceased
  • Dr. Don Collinson (2001) deceased
  • Mrs. Margaret Berry-MacLean (2000)
  • Dr. Rowland (Bus) Haryett (2000)